All undergraduate students, whether they live on campus or not, are affiliated with one of ten colleges at UC Santa Cruz. Each college provides academic support, organizes student activities, and sponsors events that enhance the intellectual and social life of the campus in addition to housing students in small-scale residential communities.

Every college community includes students with diverse backgrounds and academic goals. Your college affiliation is independent of your choice of major, and assignments are based upon space availability and your requests for affiliation.

UCSC colleges presented in order of founding:

Cowell College
Founded: 1965

Adlai E. Stevenson College
Founded: 1966

Crown College
Founded: 1967

Merrill College
Founded: 1968

Benjamin F. Porter College
Founded: 1969

Kresge College
Founded: 1971

Oakes College
Founded: 1972

Rachel Carson College
Founded: 1972

College Nine
Founded: 2000

John R. Lewis College
Founded: 2002